Places of interest in the harbour
The Grube is a narrow canal, one of Germany's oldest manmade urban waterways, connecting the Schweriner See (Lake Schwerin) with the Baltic Sea. From the mid-thirteenth century onwards the Grube served as the residents of Wismar's source of water for drinking and utilities, their water powered mills and in fighting fires.
The Wassertor ('Water Gate') is the last of the five former town gateways remaining, originally integrated into the 4m (13ft.) high town wall. The gateway, built c. 1450 in a late Gothic style, replaced an earlier one on the same site. While the town-facing side of the gateway has a typically late Gothic steeped gable, the north-facing gable was rebuilt c. 1600 in triangular form. Both the gable's façades are emblazoned with shields bearing two coats-of-arms each.
The Baumhaus (literally 'Tree House') is a baroque building dating back to the mid-eighteenth century. The square house with two Schwedenköpfen standing on guard at its portal received its name from the turnpike that once stood here. The 'tree' was a long floating timber that acted as a barrier to the harbour entrance and which was closed at nights or in times of danger.
A picturesque location near the Old Harbour with brilliantly coloured former storehouses and granaries, in which today restaurants and pubs can be found.
An ensemble of historically valuable gable-and-eave houses (including former warehouses, granaries and breweries/taverns) ranging in style from the Gothic to Classical.